Home SPORTS Pro Kabaddi League 2018, PKL Season 6 Auction: Rules, Dates, Retained Players, Prices – All You Need To Know!

Pro Kabaddi League 2018, PKL Season 6 Auction: Rules, Dates, Retained Players, Prices – All You Need To Know!

4 min read

The highly popular Pro Kabaddi League returns for its sixth edition, with the auction for Season 6 all set to take place on Wednesday and Thursday in Mumbai. After a record-shattering Season 5, the auction will lay the foundation for another massive edition that begins later this year in the month of October and will once again last for three months.

A total of 422 will go under the hammer over the two days, out of which 58 will be from foreign nations while 87 will be from the Future Kabaddi Heroes (FKH) Programme, which is a nationwide scouting programme and saw as many as 3500 players take part across 18 cities in the country.

The players will be divided into five categories, according to which their base prices will be allocated. It is as follows:

Category A – INR 20 Lakh
Category B – INR 12 Lakh
Category C – INR 8 Lakh
Category D – INR 5 Lakh
New Young Players – fixed salary of INR 6.6 Lakh

An interesting piece of innovation in the auction will be the concept of ‘Final Bid Match’, which will allow the franchises to match the final bid made by another team, for one or a maximum of two players from its squad from Season 5 – similar to the Right to Match (RTM) concept, which was introduced during the IPL 11 auctions earlier this year.

Additionally, for the first time, the broadcast will see the use of the Bid-o-Meter, a graphical representation for TV viewers, which will have three distinct ranges – Steal, Fair and Ambitious. While a bid for a player is active, the needle of the Bid-o-Meter will move along the range according to the current bid price till it settles on the final bid, this is done through a backend algorithm that has been tried and tested.

Each team will have a purse of Rs 4 crore, minus the amount spent on Retained Elite Players, Existing New Young Players and NYP players drafted up at auction. There are a total of 12 teams, with each needing to form a squad of a minimum of 18 players and a maximum of 24. A maximum of four foreign players can be signed.

The list of retained players is as follows:

Bengal Warriors: Surjeet Singh, Maninder Singh

Bengaluru Bulls: Rohit Kumar

Dabang Delhi KC: Meraj Sheykh

Gujarat Fortunegiants: Sachin Tawar, Sunil Kumar, Mahendra Ganesh Rajput

Haryana Steelers: Kuldeep Singh

Patna Pirates: Pardeep Narwal, Jaideep, Jawahar Dagar, Manish Kumar.

Puneri Paltan: Sandeep Narwal, Rajesh Mondal, More GB, Girish Ernak

Tami Thalaivas: Ajay Thakur, Amit Hooda, C Arun

Telugu Titans: Nilesh Salunke, Mohsen Maghsoudloujafari


Load More Related Articles
Load More By The Lifeline Today
Load More In SPORTS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Samsung Galaxy J7 Pro, Galaxy S8, Galaxy A6+ Receiving June 2018 Security Update

Samsung has started the rollout of the June 2018 security patch to the Galaxy S8, Galaxy A…