Home POLITICS Repolling At Three Booths In Two Karnataka Assembly Segments Today

Repolling At Three Booths In Two Karnataka Assembly Segments Today

3 min read
Comments Off on Repolling At Three Booths In Two Karnataka Assembly Segments Today

Bengaluru: Repolling on three polling booths — one in north Bengaluru’s Hebbal constituency and two in Kushtagi in Koppal district — will be held on Monday, the Election Commission said on Sunday. “Repolling will be held from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. as an Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) malfunctioned at a polling booth in Hebbal on May 12, while at two booths in Kushtagi voters’ names were wrongly listed,” state’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sanjiv Kumar told reporters here.

The names of nearly 275 voters were mixed up at the two polling stations in Kushtagi, about 400 km northwest of Bengaluru. As a result, voters cast their ballots at wrong polling booth, Kumar said. A single-day polling was held in 222 of the 224 Assembly segments on Saturday, with a record 72.13 voter turnout.

Votes will be counted on Tuesday. A record 72.13 per cent of the over 5.06 crore electorate voted during the Karnataka assembly elections, the state Chief Electoral Officer said on Sunday. “The final voter turnout is 72.13 per cent in 222 constituencies, including 36 reserved for Scheduled Castes and 15 for Scheduled Tribes,” said CEO Sanjiv Kumar in a statement, a day after the polling on Saturday.

The election in Bengaluru’s Raja Rajeshwari (RR) Nagar seat was postponed to May 28 while it was countermanded in Jayanagar segment due to the death of BJP candidate and MLA B.N. Vijaya Kumar on May 4. “The highest voting percentage of 89.97 was recorded in Hosakote in Bengaluru Rural district, with the lowest 48.03 per cent in Dasarahalli in Bengaluru Urban.”

High voting percentage was also reported from Srinivaspur in Kolar district (88.40), Chikaballapur (87.86), Gundlupet in Chamarajnagar (87.50), Aakul in Hassan (87.32). Four segments with low voting percentage were C.V. Raman Nagar in Bengaluru (48.98), BTM Layout in Bengaluru South (50.09), Sarvagnagar in Bengaluru North (51.19) and Bommanahalli in Bengaluru South (52).

Counting of votes will be taken up on May 15. In RR Nagar, vote count will be on May 31.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By The Lifeline Today
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Google Chrome’s Dino Game Gets A Birthday Makeover: Here’s What’s New With The Easter Egg Special

Having a spotty internet connection especially on WiFi can be particularly annoying when y…